Up

Members

BuddyPress makes it easy to create a social network and control member relationships with default components such as advanced profiles, activity streams, friends, private messages, user groups, blogs, and basic features such as notifications.

Below is an overview of the default features with BuddyPress:

Directory of participants

Options

  • Participant search form
  • All Members tab - with the total number of registered users who logged in at least once after activating BuddyPress at installation.
  • Select field - Show: last active (default), last registered or in alphabetical order
  • List of members registered on the site, including activity timestamp, last status update (if any) and last message (if any)

Action buttons - only visible to registered members

  • Add friend (friend request) or Cancel friend request button
  • Tab "My friends" - only for authorized users, contains the total number of friends that you have made in the sections of the site.
    • Select field - Show: last active (default), last registered or alphabetically
    • List of your friends
    • "Cancel friendship" button - displayed next to all members in the list

Header with the participant's personal information

Sections

  • Member avatar or site default avatar
  • Participant name
  • Username
  • Last member status update (if any)
  • Action buttons - visible only to registered members
    • Add friend button (request friendship) or Cancel friendship (if friendship has already been accepted)
    • "Public Post" button - Opens the "Activities > Private" screen with the specified username, e.g. @cottoncandy, in the "Status Update" field
    • Private Message Button - Opens the Messages > Write screen with the username already included.

Member activity

  • Personal - shows your activity on the site. The status update form and action buttons are only visible to registered members.

    • Select field - Show: all (default), updates, messages, comments, friendships, new groups or group memberships

    • Status update - only available to all authorized members

    • Comment button

    • Link "Reply to comment"

    • Button "Favorites" or "Remove from favorites"

    • Delete button

  • Mentions - Shows a list of all @mentions addressed to you. The action buttons below are only visible to registered members.
    • Select field - Show: all (default), updates, messages, comments, friendships, new groups or group memberships
    • Comment button
    • Link "Reply to comment"
    • Button "Favorites" or "Remove from favorites"
  • Favorites - Shows a list of all the items that you have selected as "Favorites". The action buttons below are only visible to the member.
    • Select field - Show: all (default), updates, messages, comments, friendships, new groups or group memberships
    • Comment button
    • Link "Reply to comment"
    • Button "Favorites" or "Remove from favorites"
    • Delete button
  • Friends - shows the activity feed of your friends. The action buttons below are only visible to logged in users.
    • Select field - Show: all (default), updates, messages, comments, friendships, new groups or group memberships
    • Comment button
    • Link "Reply to comment"
    • Button "Favorites" or "Remove from favorites"
  • Groups - Shows the activity feed of the groups you have joined. The action buttons below are only visible to the member.
    • Select box - Show: everyone (default), updates, new groups or group memberships
    • Comment button
    • Link "Reply to comment"
    • Button "Favorites" or "Remove from favorites"

Member Profile

  • View - shows the profile fields that you filled out during registration (Base) and any other additional fields that may have been created by the site administrator in other profile groups.
  • Edit - a panel where you can change the fields that you have filled in previously, or enter information in the profile fields that you have not yet completed. Only visible to the logged in member.
  • Change Avatar - Your avatar will be used on your profile and throughout the site. If there is a Gravatar associated with your account email, we will use it, or you can upload an image from your computer - in .jpg, .gif or .png format. Only visible to the logged in member.

Messages from members

  • Inbox - shows a list of private messages sent to you by site members. Visible only to registered members.
    • Search messages
    • Read message
    • Delete message
    • Bulk delete messages - select read, unread or all messages
  • Sent - shows the list of messages you have sent to another member. Sent - shows a list of messages that you have sent to other members of the site. Visible to registered members only. Options

    • Search for sent messages
    • Read sent message
    • Delete sent message
    • Bulk delete sent messages - select read, unread or all messages
  • Write - shows the form for sending messages. Available only to registered members.
    • "Submit" field (username or friend's name)
    • Site administrator only: Check the "This notification is for all users" box.
    • Subject field
    • Message field
    • Send message button
  • Site Admin Only: Notifications - Shows a list of site-wide notifications and the date sent via the compose panel. The admin notice will only be displayed in the sidebar for registered members, who in turn can click the "Close" link at the end of the notice - hopefully after they read the post first. The following buttons are only visible to the site / super admin.

User friends

  • Friends - shows the list of accepted friends.
    • Select order: by last active, last registered or alphabetically
    • View a link to a friend's latest status update.
    • Button "Cancel friendship" - available only to registered members.
  • Requests - Shows a list of members who have requested to be friends with you by clicking the "Add Friend" button on the member directory page or on your profile pages. The following buttons are only visible to the participant.
    • "Accept" button
    • Accepted - a message on the screen confirming that you have accepted someone's friend request.
    • Reject button

Member groups

  • Memberships - Shows the list of groups you have joined.
    • Select order: by last active, last registered or alphabetically
    • "Leave group" button - only for groups you have joined, not for groups you are an administrator of. Available only to registered users.
  • Invitations - visible only to registered members.
    • "Accept" button
    • Reject button

Participant settings

This entire section of the section is only visible to the respective registered user and site administrator.

  • General settings

    • Current password (required to update email or change current password) area

    • Forgot your password? link

    • Account email input field

    • Change password (leave blank if you don't want to change it)

    • Button "Save changes"

  • Notifications - Each event listed below will trigger site notifications (WP tooltip tooltip) and email notifications by default. You have the option to turn off email notifications for any or all of the listed events.

*ActivityOptions

  • A member mentions you in an update using "@your-username" - Yes or No radio button.
  • The member is responding to an update or comment you posted - toggle "Yes" or "No".
    • Messages Options
  • The participant sends you a new message - a "Yes" or "No" toggle.
    • FriendsOptions
  • Member sends you a friend request - Yes or No toggle
  • Member accepts your friend request - toggle "Yes" or "No"
    • Groups
  • Member invites you to join the group - switch Yes or No
  • Group info updated - switch Yes or No
  • You are promoted to admin or moderator of the group - switch "Yes" or "No".
  • The member is asking to join a private group of which you are an administrator - Yes or No radio button.
    • Button "Save changes"
    • Delete account - displayed if account deletion is allowed by the site administrator.
  • Warning: deleting your account will delete all content you have created. It will be completely irrevocable.
  • Checkbox: I understand the implications.
  • Delete account button